Guardiola wins Manager of the year awards.

Record setting Manchester City Manager,  Pep Guardiola claimed a double of Manager of the year awards;  winning  Premier League Manager of the Season and LMA Manager of the Year awards.

Guardiola’s Manchester City won the League in Emphatic fashion, setting a points record of 100 and a goal scored record of 106

Guardiola’s Manchester City also won the Carabao Cup in the 2017/2018 Season.

Guardiola  is the first Manchester  City manager to scoop either of the coveted awards.

The League Managers Association (LMA) award is voted for by fellow professional bosses, with Guardiola seeing his achievements recognised by his peers.

Only five Premier League champions have taken the prize in previous years, with the likes of Alan Pardew and Tony Pulis among those to have emerged victorious in a vote which places little emphasis on silverware.

He said after fending off competition from Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Sean Dyche (Burnley), Nuno Espirito Santo (Wolves), Neil Warnock (Cardiff) and John Coleman (Accrington Stanley): “All the other managers deserve this. They had an amazing season. You have to choose one, I was this one.

“We played good and we are happy for that. Of course, always I think the records are a consequence of our game, our consistency. To make these type of numbers you have to be solid for months, and not just a short period”-Guardiola

“Everybody wants to be here. I want to say thank you to the Premier League for giving me the opportunity to be here, to share with my family, living here in England”

“The last 10 years nobody has won back-to-back so that is the challenge.”- Guardiola

The Premier League Manager of the Season poll also went Guardiola’s way, with that decision taken by a panel of experts which includes sponsors, journalists and former players and managers.

(Visited 12 times, 1 visits today)

About The Author