Ronaldo, Bale, Alisson makes Ballon D’or 2018 Shortlist.


France Football magazine has released a list of players shortlisted for the 2018 Ballon d’Or award.

Current holder Cristiano Ronaldo has been nominated for the award having helped Real Madrid win the Champions League, scoring 44 goals in all competitions for Real Madrid.

Ronaldo has since moved to Juventus and he has found his goal scoring boots in Italy while he also scored 4 goals at the World Cup which makes him a strong contender for the award.

France Magazine uses a special style of announcing the nominees doing so in  pairs.

Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Liverpool and Brazil goalkeeper Alisson, Manchester City and Argentina striker Sergio Aguero and Paris Saint-Germain and Uruguay striker Edinson Cavani were the first five to be shortlisted.

Others include Diego Godin, Courtois and Firmino.

2018 Ballon d’or shortList.

Sergio Aguero Manchester City &Argentina

Alisson Liverpool & Brazil

Gareth Bale Real Madrid & Wales

Karim Benzema Real Madrid

Edinson Cavani PSG & Uruguay

Thibaut Courtois Real Madrid & Belgium

Cristiano Ronaldo Juventus & Portugal

Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City & Belgium

Roberto Firmino Liverpool & Brazil

Diego Godin Atletico Madrid & Uruguay

Antoine Griezmann Atletico Madrid & France

Eden Hazard Chelsea & Belgium

Isco Real Madrid & Spain

Harry Kane Tottenham Hotspur & England

N’Golo Kante Chelsea & France

Hugo Lloris Tottenham & France

Mario Mandzukic Juventus & Croatia

Sadio Mane Liverpool & Senegal

Marcelo Real Madrid & Brazil

Kylian Mbappe PSG & France

Lionel Messi Barcelona & Argentina

Luka Modric Real Madrid & Croatia

Neymar PSG & Brazil

Jan Oblak Atletico Madrid & Slovenia

Paul Pogba Manchester United & France

Ivan Rakitic Barcelona & Croatia

Sergio Ramos Real Madrid & Spain

Mohamed Salah Liverpool & Egypt

Luis Suarez Barcelona & Uruguay

Raphael Varane Real Madrid & France

The awards ceremony will take place in Paris on December 3rd.

The shortlist is curated by the editorial office of France Football, and the winner is then picked from the list by a panel of international journalists, with one representative per country.

The Ballon d’Or is awarded according to three separate criteria. The panel judge nominees on: their performances during the calendar year, their talent and fair play, and their achievements throughout their career.

Each panel member picks their top five nominees, with their first pick being awarded six points, their second pick receiving four points, their third three points, their fourth two points and their final pick one point.

The player with the most points received once all panel members have cast their votes is awarded the Ballon d’Or. In the event of a tie, the player with the most first picks is given the trophy.

Luka Modric holds FIFA the best men’s player of the year award and the UEFA male player of the year and would be looking to make it a clean sweep by adding the ballon d’or to his cabinet.

The Ballon D’or remains a special award in the football circles. Past winners include Kaka, Zidane, Ronaldinho, Michael Owen, Fabio Cannavaro amongst others

(Visited 27 times, 1 visits today)

Like it? Share with your friends!


What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win
Ade Kanye


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *